Groovement Podcast: Watch Deez – Smoked Steaks & Ice Cream


A hip hop and soul head all day long, Gez Miley is a music lover with taste. His blog, Watch Deez, is his outlet and I’ve asked him for a choice selection for Groovement – he hasn’t disappointed.

He says, “There isn’t really any rhyme or reason to the selection here. The majority here is Hip-Hop but with a little soul in the centre of the mix. 

Just a few of my favourite artists and a lot of tracks that I listen to often from years back. A mix of old and new side by side. Honestly, this playlist could’ve been four hours long so it was difficult to shorten it to a little over an hour. 

It was a pleasure putting this together for Groovement. Music fans first.”



Watch Deez: Smoked Steak & Ice Cream by Jamie Groovement on Mixcloud

Track listing:

1. Skyzoo – The Opener 
2. Mood – Info For The Streets 
3. Mobb Deep – G.O.D. Pt. III (Cookin Soul Remix) 
4. L’Orange & Stik Figa – Smoke Rings 
5. Finale – Motor Music 
6. Ratking – Canal 
7. Onyx – Raze It Up 
8. Asamov – Standing Room Only ft. J-Live, Wordsworth & Cassidy 
9. Naughty By Nature – Written On Ya Kitten (QDIII Remix) 
10. MC Lyte – Ice Cream Dream 
11. The Doppelgangaz – KnowntchooTahLie 
12. Nas & Jay Z – The World Is Yours/Dead Presidents/Where I’m From (Live at Coachella) 
13. Miles Bonny – Salmon Steaks 
14. Raphael Saadiq – Different Times ft. T-Boz 
15. The Revelations & Tre Williams – I Forgot To Be Your Lover 
16. Amerie – Why Don’t We Fall In Love 
17. crumb – Walkman Flavour 
18. The Cool Kids – 88 
19. Shad + Skratch Bastid – Homie ft. Cadence Weapon 
20. MED – Can’t Hold On 
21. Cormega – Sleep Well ft. Dwele 
22. Tanya Morgan – All ‘Em ft. Outasight 
23. Big L – MVP (Tom Caruana Remix) 
24. Devin The Dude – Cooter Brown 
25. The Beatnuts – Look Around ft. dead prez & Cheryl ‘Pepsi’ Riley



Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement