Tag Archives: throwing snow

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 17.26.23

Preview: Debut Throwing Snow LP ‘Mosaic’ on Houndstooth

Throwing Snow: Mosaic

Label: Houndstooth

Release: 2 June 2014

mosaicI’ve long followed the career and artistic development of Ross Tones – probably since the inception of Groovement in 2007 – and it will be a pleasure to go out and buy his debut solo album in June. Have a listen to the mesmerising Hypnotise, featuring Kid A, below.

Available from iTunes: smarturl.it/iTunesMosaic and the Houndstooth store: bit.ly/MosaicLP

Tour dates:
Sun 01 June – Official Album Launch: Ace Hotel, London, UK.
Thu 05 June – In-store: Rough Trade, London, UK.
Fri 06 June – RBMA Weekender, Warsaw, Poland
Sat 07 June – Parklife Festival, Manchester, UK
Sat 07 June – The Brickworks, Nottingham, UK
Fri 13 June – Sonar Festival, Barcelona, Spain
Wed 18 June – King’s College, Cambridge, UK
Thu 19 June – The Rockingchair, Sheffield, UK
Sat 21 June – Pumpehuset, Copenhagen, Denmark
Thu 26 June – The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham, UK
Sat 19 July – Lovebox Festival, London, UK

Preview: THROWING SNOW // Aspera

Throwing Snow 
December 3rd 2012 
Label: Snowfall

Listen on Soundcloud. Throwing Snow returns! This new one is fairly gargantuan and frankly, really fresh. I look forward to the release.

Press release:

Having minted his Snowfall imprint with the acclaimed ‘Clamor’ EP earlier this year, Ross Tones aka Throwing Snow returns on December 3rd for his second EP of 2012, the eagerly awaited ‘Aspera’. As with its predecessor, the title comes laced with Latin rhetoric: “Aspera” translating as “to make rough”, providing an apt description for the aesthetic of the four original tracks on offer. 

From the title track Tones’ creative direction is clearly displayed. Hinging round a warming bass, coarse stripped back drums accompany frosty arpeggios and washed out synths atop a bed of hidden strings, whilst on ‘Melum’ flickering percussion, ethereal guitars and throbbing melodic jabs combine with Throwing Snow’s trademark distortion, culminating in an unexpected segment of footwork punctuating the track’s expansive growth.

‘Lingerwell’ sees four knackered piano chords wrapped in warm crackles and hypnotic atmospherics blooming into life with a burst of pulsating stabs, before ‘Behest’ closes the EP with a climactic slugging match of drowned drums, throbbing bass and ecclesiastical synths, and a drop to make even the most atheistic of us think again.

Snowfall is now two releases strong, and having set out with an honest mission statement we are left highly anticipating what will surface next.

1. Aspera
2. Melum
3. Lingerwell
4. Behest


Download: THROWING SNOW // XLR8R Podcast 228

A seminal collection of tracks from a fine example of top drawer UK talent. Producer Throwing Snow has been churning out luscious noises since day one.



On a personal note, really happy to see Murder He Wrote  and ∇nknown ShΔpes on there, both artists that I’m looking forward to new work from immensely.

Download: XLR8R

Direct: XLR8R 228

01 Myown “You Can Stop Everytime” (Left_Blank)
02 Floating Points “ARP3″ (Eglo)
03 Mario & Vidis “Ryyk” (Best Kept Secret)
04 Gold Panda “You Gone Do Something (Live Take)”
05 Laurel Halo “Metal Confection (Oneohtrix Point Never Edit)” (Hippos in Tanks)
06 Throwing Snow “Clamor”
07 Raffertie “Courage Boy” (Ninja Tune)
08 Murder She Wrote “Your Code” (Altitude)
09 DJ PM “O Ultimo Grito” (Mental Groove)
10 Kuedo “Take Off (Remix)” (Planet Mu)
11 Dam Mantle “Her Woes” (Growing)
12 Jon Hopkins “Unknown”
13 Throwing Snow “Too Polite” (Local Action)
14 ∇nknown ShΔpes “The World Keeps Turning”
15 Kaba Blon “Moribayassa” (Sahelsounds)
16 Kuhn “Slime Beach (Phillip D Kick Remix)” (Civil)
17 Askella “Dark Child”
18 Vessel “Blowback” (A Future Without)
19 Ratatat “Bilar” (XL)
20 Lady G “Popin (Super Turnt Up)”

Download: THROWING SNOW // Murder He Wrote Remixes





Brighton scallywag and celebrity assasin for hire Murder He Wrote celebrates being added to the Tempo Clash bill on 11-11-11 by giving away these two Throwing Snow remixes for free.

Download his interpretations of Cronos and Un Vingt below. Buy the originals here.

Tempo Clash event // Islington Metal Works, London

Tempo Clash residents include some good friends of Groovement:


With a special guest in the form of:


Throwing Snow – Un Vingt/Cronos (Murder He Wrote Remixes) by Murder He Wrote

Preview: THROWING SNOW // Cronos (attak.media remix)

L-R: Figure of Wax, Devious, Max Wheeler, attak.media Photo: chally136

This photo (credit to chally136) should be on the Brighton Tourist Board website…

Brighton lad attak.media is currently working on this remix of Throwing Snow‘s Cronos track, released on a 12″ last year. It’s got me nodding along quite ferociously as I finish up this Pete Rock article for Bonafide magazine (yushhh), so thought I’d throw it up. Don’t play it without putting at least a Funktion 1 sound system through your laptop.

attak.media Soundcloud

Snow, meanwhile, produces Eleutherios on the new Amenta EP on First Word .
Cronos (attak.media remix) – Throwing Snow [CLIP] by attak.media

Cronos by Throwing Snow

Video: THROWING SNOW x PY // Wallow

Brand new and out on Super, THROWING SNOW and PY release Wallow. Buy it on Boomkat here!

1. Wallow
2. The Shadows I Make (ft Russell Morgan)
3. As The Rain Spits
4. Nettles and Gangs
5. Wallow (Lapalux Remix)
6. Wallow (PhOtOmachine’s Underground Haus Remix)
7. Wallow (Raffertie Remix)

Throwing Snow Soundcloud
Py Soundcloud

Free download from XLR8R
Wallow PhOtOmachine’s Underground Haus Mix



Read full review of Wallow – Throwing Snow & Py on Boomkat.com ©

Download: THROWING SNOW // GetMe! Mix

A Future Without label creator THROWING SNOW chucks a hefty one at GETME! - check their already amazing list of podcasts and download this nowish, including recent contribs from NIGHTWAVE, ELIPHINO and 1000 NAMES.

Direct from GETME!

Check the original post.

1. Throwing Snow – Pyre
2. Visionist – W.M.I.D (forthcoming on Left Blank)
3. Lorca – Hold Back (forthcoming on Left Blank)
4. Koreless – Up Down Up Down
5. Dauwd – What’s There
6. Throwing Snow – Cronos (George Fitzgerald Remix) (forthcoming on Snowfall)
7. Kahn – Just
8. Pirate Soundsystem – Dub n U (My Panda Shall Fly Dub)
9. Midland – Bring Joy
10. Pariah – The Slump
11. DJ Blaqstarr – Shake It To The Ground (Claude Von Stroke Remix)
12. ∇nknown Sh∆pes – Used To Give A FK
13. 2562 – Morvern
14. Ramadanman – Glut
15. Snow Ghosts – Thrice (Black Acre)
16. Ramadanman – Revenue (Untold Remix)
17. Throwing Snow – Align (Super)
18. Blawam – Iddy
19. Vessel – Nylon Sunset (forthcoming on Left Blank)
20. Vessel – Nylon Sunset (Peverelist Remix) (forthcoming on Left Blank)
21. Flowetry – Say Yes (Kahn Remix)
22. Hylu and Boogaloo Crew feat Zico – Vibes (Throwing Snow Remix)
23. Falty DL – Brazil (Diarmo Remix)
24. Glasser – Mirrorage (Throwing Snow Remix)