Hiatus Kaiyote join Brainfeeder with Mood Valiant LP

Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums) return with their follow up long player to their 2015 album Choose Your Weapon, releasing on Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder label, fresh from Grammy recognition for Thundercat’s It Is What It Is.

More established than ever and crossing prominently into the world of hip hop having been sampled by The Carters (Beyonce & Jay-Z), Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak, Chance The Rapper, and Drake, the album arises out of personal struggles (Nai Palm was diagnosed with breast cancer before she could lay vocals for the record down in 2018) which altered the tone of her lyrics, written while she recovered.

The single above is the first drop from the LP and features the legendary Arthur Verocai, recorded in late 2019 on a trip to Rio de Janeiro and which defined a shift in direction for the album.

The title of the album really encapsulates the whole spectrum of the journey. Everyone’s been through some big challenges. I feel like we charged through the mud to get this thing done. And there’s just this valiant, victorious feeling, coming out of storm into calm waters. The sun is shining, we see the shore. We did that! I feel proud of the way this sounds, the emotional depth of it. And I hope that it brings people some sort of comfort in this hard time. // Paul Bender

Some great vinyl variants are available over at recordstore.co.uk, including a dark green version exclusive to them plus signed lithographs and a glow in the dark edition. Hit here for streaming and Bandcamp links.

1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
2. Sip Into Something Soft 
3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
4. And We Go Gentle 
5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai) 
6. All The Words We Don’t Say 
7. Hush Rattle 
8. Rose Water 
9. Red Room 
10. Sparkle Tape Break Up 
11. Stone Or Lavender
12. Blood And Marrow


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement