Groovement Podcast: Exclusives from Pieces Of A Man and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble on Reform Radio #11

Our first show of 2020 featuring exclusives from Manchester soul crew Pieces Of A Man (catch them live at Band On The Wall MCR on 23 Jan) and Chicago’s bad boys of jazz, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble plus an unreleased track from Cutwerk and Kong with Evabee.

BlackStar, Apollo Brown and Swindle choices come courtesy of my fellow Bonafide mag writer, @msKoncept

Dedicated to Deepo, get better soon.


Buy Beat Horizon tickets here.

Deepo – Danger Deepo
Golden Mean – Through Walls
Knxwledge. – Do You
Mali Hayes – Oceans ft. LayFullStop
Kid Acne – Nice With It
Elaquent – Guidelines (feat. Oddisee)
Michele Manzo – Blind ft RayClev
Lotte Kærså & Græsrødderne – Byen Er Stille
Cutwerk – Orbital Decay
Thugwidow – Requiem For Beetham Tower
Ahmed Ben Ali – Subhana / سبحان
Moonchild – Wise Women
Dub Phizix – The Pitchfork And The Flame Ft Paul Heaton
The Leonard Simpson Duo (Guilty Simpson x Leonard Charles) – My Inspiration
BlackStar – Astronomy (8th Light)
Kong – ZZZZ ft.EvaBee
Kassa Overall – Show Me a Prison (Feat. J Hoard & Angela Davis)
EXCLUSIVE: PIECES OF A MAN – Drifting (live at 80 Hertz)
EXCLUSIVE: PIECES OF A MAN – Climb Down (live at 80 Hertz)
Swindle – Take It Back (feat. D Double E & Kiko Bun)
J Felix – Mind Up feat. Andrew Ashong
EXCLUSIVE: Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – My Ship
Natty Wylah – Feel U
Om Unit – Runes
Apollo Brown – Can’t Lose (feat. Phat Kat, Royce Da 5’9″, & DJ Los)
Mick Jenkins – The Light feat. EarthGang
David Walters – Manyè
Calibro 35 – Stan Lee feat. Illa J
Sweatson Klank – How The Sun Rose
Jungle Fire – Quémalo


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement