Groovement Interview: ALICE RUSSELL

Alice’s fifth album, To Dust, is due to drop next month. The single Heartbreaker preceded it back in November, with the frankly unexpected video below featuring everyone’s favourite Simpsons voice artist, radio guy and Godzilla-remake Harry Shearer. Here’s Harry in Tokyo, interviewing fifties Gojira royalty.

But back to Alice! Initial responses ‘pon Twitter are extremely positive about the new album, and it’s about time Alice’s was recognised as one of the strongest modern soul voices around, full stop. We have a chat about chilli, the new album, funk in 2013 and more. Also with us is Rosie from Tru Thoughts, a label who seem to have big things lined up for 2013.

To Dust is released February 25th 2013 on heavyweight double LP, CD, digi and 10″ too. 

1. A To Z
2. Heartbreaker Pt. 2
3. For A While
4. Heartbreaker
5. I Loved You Interlude
6. Hard And Strong
7. To Dust
8. I Loved You
9. Twin Peaks
10. Heartbreaker Interlude
11. Let Go (Breakdown)
12. Drinking Song Interlude
13. Citizens
14. Different (Bonus Track)

Interview: ALICE RUSSELL // DEC12 by Jamie Groovement on Mixcloud


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.