Preview: THE HERBALISER // There Were Seven {Department H}

Artwork: DJ Food



DATE:             08 OCTOBER 2012 (WORLD)

CD, digital download, vinyl, special edition limited edition vinyl

Vinyl album with screen-printed PVC outer sleeve, limited edition version comes complete with handmade artwork a t-shirt and poster.

The Herbaliser Return With New Album ‘There Were Seven’

DJ Food says… 

“There’s a loose concept at work within the album, which I don’t want to give away too much of but there are a myriad of clues in the titles, lyrics and graphics to a narrative that runs through much of the album.

I’ve kindly been asked back to design the record, which will be available on vinyl, CD and download plus a very limited special vinyl package from their own Dept. H label. Full details of the ltd. vinyl are yet to be finalised but even the standard vinyl will be a special package and I’m looking forward to getting that one back from the printers.

The album features vocals from MCs Ghettosocks, Muneshine, Timbuktu, George The Poet and vocals from Hannah Clive. A promo single, ‘The Lost Boy‘ will be doing the rounds soon with remixes forthcoming from The Colman Brothers2econd Class Citizen and more…”

1.         Return of the Seven

2.         The Lost Boy (ft. Hannah Clive)

3.         Welcome to Extravagance

4.         Mother Dove

5.         Zero Hill (ft. Twin Peaks)

6.         Take ‘Em On

7.         A Sad State of Affairs (ft. George the Poet)

8.         Setting Up

9.         Crimes & Misdemeanours (ft. Twin Peaks)

10.       What You Asked For

11.       March of the Dead Things (Night of the Necromantics) (ft Teenburger)

12.       Deep in the Woods

13.       Inside The Machine

14.       Danny Glover (ft. Twin Peaks)

15.       Move as One

·      Released October 08th through Department H

·      New single ‘The Lost Boy’ feat. Hannah Clive release August 27th

·      Headline show at The HMV Forum in London on Oct 27th

One of my favourite UK hip hop acts return, four years on from the release of their last album.

‘There Were Seven’ is released via their own Department H label this October. The LP hits hard with 15 slabs of ‘super heavy, psychedelic, beat-laden, post-hip-hop audio’.

Press release:

Written and produced by Jake Wherry and Ollie Teeba, THERE WERE SEVEN takes you on an epic journey; from the undulating wobbly dub of “Welcome to Extravagance”, through to the electronic takeover of “Mother Dove”, and the manic spitting flute funk of “Take ‘Em On”.

Featuring collaborations with up-and-coming UK wordsmith, George the Poet, on “A Sad State of Affairs”, soulful vocalist Hannah Clive on the album’s lead single “The Lost Boy”, and super MC’s from across the Atlantic – Twin Peaks and Teenburger, the album shows that Jake & Ollie haven’t lost their golden touch when it comes to unearthing new talent.

Released on CD, digital download and on vinyl with artwork by Strictly Kev, (aka Ninja Tune’s DJ Food) there will also be a limited edition version of the album complete with hand made artwork, a t-shirt and poster.

Cementing their reputation as one of the best live acts around, The Herbaliser will be bringing the full might of their horn section to London’s HMV Forum on Saturday 27th October for a launch party also featuring sets from Belleruche, DJ Food and DJ Cam.

So take some time out from the tinny, un-inspiring, auto-tune infected world of today, and feast on some deliciously full-bodied beats, brought to you by the original grand masters of sonic sound….



Twitter @theherbaliser

There Were Seven Launch Party


Saturday 27th October


The HMV Forum

The Herbaliser – Live

Belleruche – Live

DJ Food

DJ Cam

& More

Tickets £17.50 in advance

Full details

Leave a Reply