Preview: QUAKERS // Quakers

Download Fitta Happier ft MED and Guilty Simpson via Stones Throw

Holy crap. Geoff Barrow (Portishead) aka Fuzzface returns with what it says on the tin… immense hip hop. Preview the album tracks here.

Quakers – Fitta Happier by Stones Throw Records

Quakers Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Big Cat (feat. Synato Watts)
03. Fitta Happier (feat. Guilty Simpson/MED)
04. Smoke (feat. Jonwayne)
05. The Lo
06. Russia With Love (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
07. What Chew Want (feat. Tone Tank)
08. Flapjacksmm
09. Jobbles (feat. Quite Nyce)
10. Sidewinder (feat. Buff 1)
11. Mummy (feat. Diverse)
12. Belly of the Beast (feat. Emilio Rojas)
13. Up the Rovers
14. The Turk: King Magnetic
15. There It Is (feat. Raydar Ellis/Quite Nyce)
16. RIP
17. I Like To Dance (feat. Krondon / Steele (Smif-N-Wessun)
18. Dark City Lights (feat. Frank Nitt)
19. The Beginning (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
20. Kreem
21. War Drums (feat. Phat Kat/Guilty Simpson)
22. R.A.I.D. (feat. Lyric Jones)
23. Fresh
24. Something Beautiful
25. Chicken Livers (feat. FC the Truth)
26. Rock My Soul (feat. Prince Po)
27. Lost and Found (feat. Estee Nack)
28. My Mantra (feat. Dave Dub)
29. Hunnypots of Beeswax
30. TV Dreaming (feat. Booty Brown)
31. Don’t Make It Worthless
32. Soul Power (feat. Dead Prez)
33. Glide
34. Get Live (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
35. Sign Language (feat. Aloe Blacc)
36. Earth Quaking (feat. Akil)
37. You’re Gonna Be Sorry
38. Outlaw (feat. Deed)
39. The Tax Man (feat. Poems (Sharlock Poems)
40. Chucky Balboa (feat. Silverust)
41. Oh Goodness (feat. Finale)

Stones Throw they say:

Quakers is a hip-hop collective boasting 35 members which orbits around a core of three producers: Fuzzface, 7-Stu-7 and Katalyst.

Fuzzface is better known as Portishead’s Geoff Barrow, a long-time Stones Throw supporter in touch with Peanut Butter Wolf since championing the Jaylib album back in 2004. 7-Stu-7 is Portishead’s engineer and in-house producer at Invada Records in the UK. Katalyst is one of the most respected producers in Australia and a partner in Invada Records.

Disillusioned with much of the hip-hop around them, the like-minded producers set out to create the type of rap record they’d want to listen to. That meant gathering one of the most varied arrays of talent ever seen on a hip-hop record. Rather than just sending beats to the hottest names of the moment, the producers sought out genuine collaborators, regardless of whether they were legendary or simply stumbled upon around the world wide web. Invitations were sent out to golden era legends such as Prince Po and The Pharcyde’s Booty Brown, indie rap titans such as Dead Prez and Phat Kat, and of course some of StonesThrow’s finest: Aloe Blacc, Guilty Simpson, MED and newest signings Jonwayne and Dave Dub all make memorable contributions. There are also some lesser known talents present: band-favorite Coin Locker Kid, Lyric Jones, Estee Nack & more hold it down with their more celebrated peers.

Yet for all the vocal talent, it’s often Quakers’ stellar production that takes center stage, tying together the albums 40+ tracks into a cohesive whole. Heavy beats come thick and fast, from the horn-heavy stomp of “Fitta Happier” to the devastating synthesizer abuse of “Belly of the Beast” and beyond.

Quakers music first appeared in Banksy’s 2011 film Exit Through The Gift Shop and, in case you’re wondering, the name comes from ‘earthquake’. They’re here to shake the foundations.


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.