Listen on Soundcloud


“Type One Era” Tracklist:

01 Beau Geste (Extended)

02 Type One Era (feat. Careful)

03 On Standby (Part 1)

04 On Standby (Part 2)

05 Beau Geste – After Midnight Mix (feat. Sketch Lightly)

06 Type One Era (Instrumental)

07 Beau Geste (Screwed)


New, upcoming release from Adam Prince aka Hectic Zeniths, who we last heard from around this time last year. Press release follows:

‘Type One Era’ sees Hectic Zeniths continue to utilize atmospheric live instrumentation woven with layers of vinyl samples, while making a few adjustments. Original field recordings of sounds including fireworks, thunderstorms, and ice machines, along with stock drum samples, have replaced live drums and breaks. With Adam Morgan Prince adding touches of piano, acoustic guitar, glockenspiel, and electric bass on this release, the two features are the first Hectic Zeniths collaborations with vocalists.  Brooklyn Singer/Songwriter Eric Lindley (Careful) lends pitch-shifted vocals to the downcast title-track; rapper Sketch Lightly spits a wistful verse for an alternate version of ‘Beau Geste.’  

Accompanying the release is this 14-minute video, “The Making of Type One Era,” where Prince breaks down the creation of the title track. 

<iframe width=”608″ height=”342″ src=”” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen></iframe>

‘Type One Era” is tentatively set for an April/May 2013 digital release and limited edition cassette release on Buddha Tapes.



Hectic Zeniths is the work of multi-instrumentalist bedroom producer Adam Morgan Prince. Nearly three years in the making, his debut self-titled album was independently released to critical praise from publications including MTV Hive, URB, Cokemachineglow, and the Philadelphia City Paper.  The densely layered project built around original piano compositions with an atmospheric collage of chopped and pitched dollar-bin vinyl samples, live instrumentation, synths, and haunting vocals.  Guest musicians included violinist Patrick Bailey, guitarist Dave Cohen, and drummer The Yetti.

‘Hectic Zeniths’ is an anagram for the German word ‘Zeitschichten,’ meaning “Layers of Time.” The artist had previously released free instrumentals, an array of hip hop and electronic remixes, and YouTube piano covers under the name ‘amplifya’. Born in Brooklyn, NY, he currently teaches high school math in Philadelphia, PA.


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.