DJ Butter signing the test pressing of the label's new single. Photo: Mr E

Guest post by Mr. E

After his tragic passing in 2006, James Dewitt Yancey aka J Dilla aka Jay Dee left behind reportedly thousands of unreleased beats. With the aim of preserving the musical legacy of the great producer, Ma Dukes, Jonathon Taylor and DJ Butter have formed the Yancey Media Group.

In February, the group organised the world’s biggest celebration of J Dilla’s music, and has recently set up Ruff Draft Records. The imprint will see its debut release this Tuesday, in the form of Dilla’s first official album since 2009’s Jay Stay Paid.

Rebirth of Detroit

The album is titled Rebirth of Detroit, and features appearances from long time Dilla collaborators such as Guilty Simpson, Phat Kat and Amp Fiddler, as well as rising 313 stars such as Danny Brown, Quelle Chris, and Boldy James.


Jonathon Taylor signing the limited vinyl. Photo: Mr E

Earlier this year, Mr. E caught up with CEO Jonathon Taylor and DJ Butter, in the former’s record-filled East Detroit apartment, to talk about the new project as they autographed test pressings for the label’s first single.

(Editor’s note: Mr. E allegedly has a bagload of other Detroit interviews ready to go following his recent trip there. We look forward to pushing them on here!  –  Agent J) 

Rebirth of Detroit is released worldwide, physically and digitally (iTunes) on June 12th, distributed by Fat Beats.

@officialmadukes @taylor_jonathon @iamdjbutter


Artist: J Dilla
Release: Rebirth of Detroit {Album}
Label: Ruff Draft


1. “The New Installment” (Intro)
2. “Detroit Madness” with Phat Kat3. “Big Thangs” with Esham
4. “Ride With It” with Tha Almighty Dreadnaughtz
5. “Say My Name” with LaPeace, Moe Dirdee and Seven The General
6. “Detroit Game” with Chuck Inglish (COOL KIDS) and Boldy James
7. “Feel this Shit” with KetchPhraze
8. “City of Boom” with Loe Louis and Beej
9. “Let’s Pray Together” with Amp Fiddler
10. “Requiem” with Allan Barnes (The Blackbyrds)
11. “Do It Right” with Fat Ray, VStylez and Soul Man (A.W.O.L.)
12. “My Victory” with Boldy James
13. “Rebirth is Necessary” with Tone Plummer and Mr. Wrong
14. “DILLATROIT” with Supa Emcee, Nick Speed and Guilty Simpson
15. “Center of The Movement” with 5ELA ft. Pierre Anthony
16. “Pitfalls” with Fat Ray, LaPeace and Loe Louis
17. “Do It For Dilla Dawg” with Illa J and Frank Nitt (CAKE BOYS)
18. “Jay Dee’s Revenge” with Danny Brown ft. DJ DEZ
19. “Motor City Sparks” with Corey Sparks and Beej
20. “House Shoes Was Spinnin” with Quelle Chris
21. “The Best That Ever Did It” with Jon C and Allan Barnes (The Blackbyrds)


Agent J aka Jamie Groovement: writer, host, DJ and teacher. @jamiegroovement

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.